Computer Science, or not to Computer Science

I’ve been looking into different Computer Science programs in my area, hoping to find something that’s accessible and that will (maybe) still let me work and make a decent wage. I really don’t know where to start.

old-apple-computer

There are a few programs that boast a focus on game development, something I’m obviously interested in, but I’m still flip-flopping on whether it’s a good idea or not. Even though I may seem to be a pillar of strength and self-confidence in my posts on this blog, I actually doubt myself a lot. I keep telling myself that I can wade through all this programming stuff on my own, that it’s all online and that I don’t need to pay some exorbitant amount of money (again) just to get a piece of paper that says “You learned stuff.”

But then I try to wade into yet another argument over whether or not beginners should try to learn C# over UnityScript. Or an article on all the steps you need to do to get a decent job in this industry. Or a podcast about how these big developers all started designing websites and text adventures when they were TEN EFFING YEARS OLD. Time to get real: I’m 26 this year and I have a wife and pets to take care of. I have bills. I have a job I need to be able to perform well at. I still need to replace my windshield cause it cracked two winters ago but I keep telling myself it’s fine because if I pay for a new one, I won’t be able to afford to take my lady out on date night. None of these things are going to mesh well with spending twelve hours a day on campus and even more time at home hunched over a textbook and my laptop.

“But still, I could do it.” This is what I keep telling myself. Maybe it’s what’s holding me back.

Sad face emoticon.

say something

